

An ambitious EU Arctic Policy to realise the European Green Deal

28 JUNE 2021 | 09.00-11.30 CET | Link to connect (Ms Teams)

Moderator: Mr Nicolas Brookes, CPMR Executive Director

09:00-09:10	 Introductory remarks Mr. Tomas Mörtsell, Vice-President of the CPMR Baltic Sea Commission & 2nd Vice-President of the Regional Development Board Västerbotten Mr. Urmas Paet, Member of the European Parliament, Chair of the European Parliament Arctic Friendship Group and Vice-Chair of Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET)
09:10-09:20	Keynote speech - Video message from Mr. Virginijus Sinkevičius, European Commissioner for Environment, Oceans and Fisheries
09:20-10:00	 Sustainable Arctic Mr. Sr. Gerard Martí Figueras i Albà, Secretary of Foreign Affairs an European Union, Catalunya Mr. Enrique Garcilazo, Head of Unit, OECD Ms. Ilka von Dalwigk, Policy Manager, EBA250, EIT InnoEnergy Open floor
10:00-10:40	Smart Arctic - Mr. Mika Riipi, Governor of Lapland - Mr. Alessandro Rainoldi, Head of Unit, Joint Research Centre - Mr. Mads Qvist Frederiksen, Director of Arctic Economic Council Open floor
10:40-11:20	Peaceful Arctic - Mr. Peter Sköld, Chair of the Board for the University of the Arctic - Ms. Iiris Mäntyranta, Managing Authority, Interreg Aurora - Ms. Kirsti Mijnhijmer, Head of Secretariat, Interreg Northern Peripher and Arctic Programme (tbc) Open floor
11:20-11:30	Concluding remarks - Mr. Erik Bergkvist, Member of the European Parliament